84700 Santorini, GR
Get Directions →

From 1985 to 2012

1986. Being an independent sports club, the Pyrgos Sports Union joins a football tournament for the first time.

1987. On an idea by the president Konstantinos Kouskouris, the official Santorini football tournament is established with the participation of island villages and unions – 16 teams in total.

1988- 1993. The tournament continues with great success, and the team wins the championship four times. In 1993, it is decided that the team should be represented in an official league. After the necessary actions in the Naxos and Syros court of first instance, the dream finally comes true.

1993. The Pyrgos Sports Union is officially established. It participates in the Cyclades Minor League for the first time; its first president is Mr Konstantinos Kouskouris. On the initiative of the president and Board of Directors, the village inhabitants work hard to fully restore the playing field, a gift by the Profitis Elias monastery.

1995. Coached by Mr Spyros Nomikos, the team manages to climb to the Cyclades Major League, where it remains for the next five years.

2000. Mr Evangelos Nomikos takes over as president, an office he holds to this day.


Posted: 1 July, 2012

Author: Estia

Category: Sports

Tags: , ,

©Maps by Google Inc.